Sorry this is a day late but I actually do have a full time job that I need to pay my race fees since Louie cut my salary for not placing in my lastrace. I want to start by reminding some of our readers of a cardinal rulethat you are not allowed to break as a bike racer. Per the USCF rule book,you are not allowed to take you hands or feet off of your bike and strikeanother rider. Under no circumstances is this ever allowed or appropriate.The rules call for an automatic suspension in the event that a riderviolates these rules. That being said, a lot of things happen in thecourse of a bike race and we can all let our tempers and drive forcompetition outweigh our common sense. Just make sure you do not violatethis rule. This goes for starting it and any kind of retaliation. All ofus have a stake in keeping races as safe as possible.
TNW:This week saw a break start early with the Balchesaurus driving like he wason a crusade. The others in the break (Troll, Opi (this is Nathans nickname until I come up with something better), myself, and Big Eric were allhanging on for dear life hoping that Balch was going to slow down soon sowe could catch our breath. just when I thought life was going to getbetter, up comes the Chicken with Lance and Hansel. Now things got reallyinteresting with the big horses driving the break and stragglers droppingoff like flies. It was a good break and after a few mishaps with somebumping and grinding between the chicken and troll, we settled down to pullaway from the field. The break ended up with Mexican Snaggle Tooth,Chicken,Ryan, Lance, Fatman, Hansel, Double Chip, and Balch. The PT gangwas blocking like crazy and the break stayed away. We tried to set up Lance with a couple of attacks towards the end but he prevailed to win the sprint and take the belt home for another week.
Utah report as written by Mark Schaefer:Another great weekend of racing in Utah. The course was hard but beautifu lMt road racing. I raced the masters with all the usual suspects. Like most weeks BM gang had one rider off the front alone. It was Don Armstrong I wasnot going to respond (I had a lot of long hard miles training this week),Don is a good guy, ok with me if he can do it. A couple of riders started working at the front but not seriously the gap to Don was growing. We gotto the first climb and it was time to go to the front for me and start myworkout for the day. Half way up the climb one of Don's team mates (the P)attacked me, one other rider glued to his wheel. I looked around and no oneelse was there. I let them have their gap 20-50M and just watched to seewhat would happen it stayed that way over the top so time to bridge the gapon the descent. We had closed some of the gap to Don by the turn around.The second climb with the P and other glued to my wheel (more like a tandemimpossible for them to come around) back to my workout for the day tempo upthe climb. I figured to catch Don by the top that should hold off attacks from the P. Riding well I caught Don with about 2 miles to the top. Noattacks.... Don and I pushed it to the top, four of us over together. Lots of booty shakin on the descent (go figure). OK unlike last week I blew this one, 5K to go there was a short leg breaker hill Don went hard at it andpulled off I continued at that same pace ( I was a dumb ass I should have attacked) I got to the top and had a gap I rolled hard but not quite ableto hold them off. The good part of this was that the BM guys (to busy withme) got jumped at 500M by the other rider, yes BM does not win and I got3rd....I have them all set up for the Gap, they will all be watching me and teamPT can roll'em.
Myself and Chicken went down to Socal this weekend to hang out with Simo and get in some miles before Gap. On Sunday we did the Como Street ride.I must say a lot of respect was given out to the PT jerseys this week aswe were congratulated on the season our team has had and the performance ofRoboCop the week before at State. Chicken was marked on the hills and heattacked the field to show off why he is called a climber. He rode off the front for most of the ride to show off some of the form he has been building for GAP. It was a good weekend and it was really nice to hear the compliments to the team and how interested people were in what our plans for the next year are. Wear that PT jersey with pride, people notice.
Random Thoughts:
Gap is this weekend. Who will come out on top??? Only your legs will beable to tell you now.
Has anyone thought of some kind of anger management class for cyclists??Can't we all just get along?? I guess it is the nature of racing to becompetitive but lets make sure we keep it safe. This sport is dangerous enough.
From the mind of the Chicken: How can i shake the Mexican Snaggle Tooth.He haunts my dreams. Why will he not pull through?? Is he after mywoman?? i must destroy him and make him pay for his insolence.
Dotsie Bausch is looking to get into track racing and will try her hand at the 3k pursuit for nationals. Can you see a run for the Olympic Games inBeijing?? KB better brush up on his chinese.
I am doing the Pro 1-2 race called the SanPete Classic in Spring City UT next Saturday. Let me know if you are interested in going with. I can switch to masters 35+ if Mark would like up to help him whip some ass onhis UT boys. Let me know.
Levi, Devolder and Gusev have contacted Louie about racing on PT next year.We advised them they are not old enough and we already have some champions.
The show is coming!!! Just a thought to some of you looters out there. Remember that we are privileged to have the industry bike show in our cityand most of us find a way to get in. For some of us this is an importanttime for us to secure sponsors and represent our teams. Remember toconduct yourself with some class. I have heard stories in the past of guysat the show buying gear and misrepresenting who they are and what they aredoing, equipped with made up resumes and tall stories about races won.This is just a ploy to get free and discounted gear and purchase equipmentand components to sell. It ends up being sold to local cyclists andcompeting with local bike shops. This is bull shit and should not happen.We need to support local shops. If you think you are turning an easy buckand it does not hurt anything, you are wrong. It is important that we do not abuse the good will that is provided by sponsors to support racers
Jimmy Robbins
Sunday, August 19, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment